Dill Pickles

I made pickles!

When I was out in the field a few weeks ago I saw these amazing pickling cucumbers.

I had no clue what to do with them but I love pickles and had to figure something out.  I googled a few recipes and found a super easy way to make them.

Dill pickles:

  • Pickles
  • Salt
  • Spring Water
  • White vinegar
  • Garlic
  • Dill

Slice pickles however you want.  I sliced them into spears.  Mince garlic (I used 4 cloves per 3 pickles) and add to mason jar with dill (about 3 sprigs per 3 pickles).  Add pickles to jar, fill to top with spring water, and mix in 1 TBSP salt per 3 pickles and 1TBSP white vinegar per 2-3 pickles.  Tighten jar, shake well, and store for 24 hours.

After 24 hours, shake jar, turn upside down and store for another 24 hours.  After 24 hours, store pickles in refrigerator and enjoy!

These pickles are crunchy and salty and delicious.

2 thoughts on “Dill Pickles

  1. Pingback: Peter Piper Picked a Peck of Pickled Cucumbers | The Garden Diaries

  2. Pingback: Peter Piper Picked a Peck of Pickled Cucumbers | The Garden Diaries

Leave a comment